Author Topic: 3D printed contractor's workshop building  (Read 1287 times)

Erik aka Ngineer

• Crew
  • Respect: +27
    • My Shapeways models
3D printed contractor's workshop building
« on: August 11, 2015, 03:36:55 PM »
I am pretty new here but as some of you may have noticed I am heavily into 3D printing. I am a poor scratchbuilder but 3D printing seems to go ok. I'll show you my latest project to share what I am learning from it.
Some time ago I decided to go a bit bigger and make a 3D printed building with an interior and -of course- an exterior. The building will house my rail infrastructure maintenance contractor (I am a civil engineer, so I don't build a bakery). The building will be part of my MOW yard. The yard will have 4 tracks, 3 for storage with a gantry crane and one track that ends inside the main building.

Let me be clear, this is as much a project as it is a test. I have no idea if it will be what I hope it will be, but it will definitely give me some more experience in 3D building.

This is the main plan for the yard. The yard is 300x500mm (red lines). The building can be viewed from this angle or from the rear, which is open and shows the interior.

The main building will look like this:

The print arrived exactly when my vacation started. The building came out ok. I had it printed in polished White Strong&Flexible. I had some thin parts which I knew might not survive the printing and polishing. And I was right, they didn't survive. 2 down spouts, the dividing beams in the windows and a railing were wiped out. 2 down spouts were bent but fixable.
The front of the building with the large rollup door for the rail access:

The side with the lower overhead door. The down spout on the right has been removed. I'll order that in FUD with my next order. The other down spouts are still in limbo, I'll try heating them and straighten them.