Author Topic: Metal wheels for Atlas cars  (Read 3016 times)

Ken Rice

• Crew
  • Respect: +1
    • Rice's Rails
Metal wheels for Atlas cars
« on: January 13, 2015, 04:31:52 PM »
This is my first post on the railwire, I used to participate on the Atlas forums.  I've been ignoring N scale and my own layout for a couple years, but I'm picking up where I left off now.  I've got about half my track laid and I need to get enough rolling stock into shape to test my operating plan.  So, on to the actual question...

I have a bunch of Atlas freight cars (fairly recent vintage).  They all have plastic wheels.  My layout is all Atlas N code 55, with #10 turnouts.  My immediate goal is to get them all swapped out to metal wheels, and to keep them as free rolling as possible.  Nice to have goal is a reasonably narrow wheel tread, but reliability trumps appearance.

I seem to recall from when I started looking into this a couple years ago that it seemed like FVM wheelsets were the best way to go, being careful to pick the right axle length for each car.

I've done a bunch of searching and I get the impression that Fox Valley has possibly changed the shape of the wheels slightly, and possibly the tread width too?  What I'm wondering is if the samples I ordered a couple years ago are still representative of what I'd get if I ordered a large package.

Is there a better way to get really free rolling metal wheels under an Atlas freight car?

(Trackplan and progress photos here: http://rices-rails.blogspot.com/search/label/N%20Scale)

bbussey

• Crew
  • Respect: +4703
    • www.bbussey.net
Re: Metal wheels for Atlas cars
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 04:38:11 PM »
FVM offers two thicknesses of wheel tread.  What you want are the #3302 and #3602 wheels.  The former is 33" prototype, the latter is 36" prototype.

Bryan Busséy
NHRHTA #2246
NSE #1117
www.bbussey.net

victor miranda

• Crew
  • Respect: +2
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 04:39:29 PM »