Author Topic: ATSF PS 64' smoothside baggage car-AMB laserkit  (Read 3059 times)

arbomambo

• Crew
  • Respect: +1050
ATSF PS 64' smoothside baggage car-AMB laserkit
« on: August 24, 2012, 08:51:32 PM »
Hello all,
in searching for cars for my 1957 era Fast Mail Express, I was able to obtain 2 of the very nice American Model Builders laserkit Santa Fe smoothside baggage kits.
a word about these-the boxes them selves contain a typo...they're listed as 74' baggage cars, actually they are 64' smoothside baggage cars, built by Pullman Standard on old frames for the Santa Fe.
What's kind of neat is that Santa Fe painted some of these in silver and some in Dark gray, with black roofs and silver trucks and underframes. I plan to do one of each scheme-these will look neat in a Fast Mail and Grand Canyon consist.
I've never built a car with clear sides before-apparently the sides are some sort of acrylic- the instructions suggest using Ambroid pro-weld...Tenax 7R seems to work well for me.
The kit comes with the standard American Limited core car kit, trucks, and diaphagms..very nice...leaving only the wire grabs and etched handrails to add, in addition to the lettering.
 The two major alterations needed are shotening the generic-length roof and underframe...the roof is fairly simple for most bashes-simply remove the required material from the center area, leaving the end caps available for the proper fit..after careful measuring, I determined that roof and underframe needed to be shortened by 1-13/32 inches for this car.
Using a fine tooth saw and miter box I cut the roof in two places, leaving a little more material than necessary to allow for proper sanding.
The underframe, for this build, was just as simple; the truck to end spacing needed no alterations at all-on these shortened cars, the trucks retained their original spacing, making them very unique looking.