Author Topic: Recent Atlas SD7/9 - Grrr!  (Read 1030 times)

wmcbride

• Crew
  • Respect: +78
Recent Atlas SD7/9 - Grrr!
« on: April 06, 2024, 09:00:54 PM »
Well, I have been doing this N scale thing since 1979 but today Atlas bested me.

I had just one simple wish: to add a decoder to my new Atlas SD9. I tried all the tried and true methods to get the shell off: small, flat screw driver blades, toothpicks, dropping the engine so the front of the frame hits the edge of the loco box (which used to be a sure-fire easy-peasy thing), incantations, etc. No joy. No movement.

Maybe some of that Scale Trains SD40-2 fuel tank screw glue migrated over to Atlas?

Tomorrow is another day but today ... wasn't. At least in my N world.
Bill McBride

Nick Lorusso

• Crew
  • Lets see what I'm modeling this week
  • Respect: +118
Re: Recent Atlas SD7/9 - Grrr!
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2024, 05:30:14 PM »
Bill,
Had the same issue. Work Slowly and carefully with a small Flathead around the frame and shell. It will come up just be patient.
Regards,
Nick Lorusso
https://sbhrs.wildapricot.org/

wmcbride

• Crew
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2024, 11:48:15 PM »
Bill,
Had the same issue. Work Slowly and carefully with a small Flathead around the frame and shell. It will come up just be patient.

Thanks! These are quite tight -- unlike all the other Atlas engines I have.

Bill McBride

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +5221
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2024, 12:42:48 AM »
+1
Thanks! These are quite tight -- unlike all the other Atlas engines I have.

They for the first time have a one-piece chassis (no split frame). Maybe Atlas made it a bit wider, so it fits tighter in the shell.
. . . 42 . . .

wmcbride

• Crew
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2024, 08:35:40 AM »
They for the first time have a one-piece chassis (no split frame). Maybe Atlas made it a bit wider, so it fits tighter in the shell.

Most likely but it is TIGHT.
Bill McBride

randgust