Author Topic: Solder Situation  (Read 1349 times)

basementcalling

• Crew
  • Respect: +730
Solder Situation
« on: August 19, 2015, 03:58:31 PM »
I am puzzled and need some help.

I am soldering feeders to each rail on my track, weathered ME C55 with concrete ties and some sections on passing sidings have wood ties.

I have about 10 now that the red wire, and it's only the red feeder and not my white, has come unsoldered after installation on the layout. I am using thin solder and using flux. I tin both the wire and track after I file the track to clean off the weathering solution. I also lightly crimp the exposed copper to create a flatter surface on the wire (16 gage). A couple lose wires I think were the work of Catzilla, but a couple others have come off when I bent the wire to lift it up and out of the way on the lower deck.

I am getting tired of resoldering red wires. I'm not an expert, so I may be doing something wrong, but I thought I was following proper procedures. Why do my red feeders hate me? Any ideas?
Peter Pfotenhauer

Philip H

• Crew
  • Respect: +1630
    • Layout Progress Blog
Re: Solder Situation
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2015, 04:20:59 PM »
are you using a heat sink at the solder joint as you make it?
Philip H.
Chief Everything Officer
Baton Rouge Southern RR - Mount Rainier Division.

peteski

• Crew
  • Honorary Resident Curmudgeon
  • Respect: +5130
    • Coming (not so) soon...
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2015, 04:29:45 PM »
Are the metal surfaces freshly cleaned (showing clean bare metal) and fluxed when you are tinning?
Is the wire and track really tinned or is a blob of solder just stuck to their surfaces?
When the joint breaks does the solder remain with the wire or with the track (or some on each)?
Can you take a cloeseup photo of the red wire joint before and after a break?