Author Topic: Trucks on MTL mill gon  (Read 1280 times)

thomasjmdavis

• Crew
  • Respect: +1081
Trucks on MTL mill gon
« on: September 11, 2023, 03:09:58 PM »
+1
Caveats- Like a lot of folks my age, my eyesight isn't what it once was, and I miss details, sometimes, that might jump right out at the rest of you.  Also, I have been collecting N scale spare parts for 45 years, so whether a given pair of trucks in the parts box is current production is unlikely.  But with that said...

Took a close look at the trucks on the new MTL gon today.  Am I imagining things, or did they tool a new truck sideframe for this model?  I compared it with various MTL trucks in my parts box, as well as with pics on Spookshow's site, and to my eye, the closest truck I can find is the prototype AAR DTSP truck (DTSP translates, I think, to "double truss spring plankless") in builders photos of the ATSF Ga-48 gondola that MTL based it's model on.

But, I can't find anything in the MTL ads saying that the truck is new tooling. But to me, it sure looks like it.

@MTLJoe - Did you guys tool a new truck sideframe just for this car?

Also, while on the subject of the gondola- GREAT customer service from MTL. I mention this, since they have a public announcement about it on their website, and those on their mailing list probably received the same email I did. The truck side frames on the first batch of gondolas, that went out in August, were minutely (about .008, according to my cheap caliper) too thick. Anyway, a quick email to Sara brought new truck frames, which arrived within a few days.  I was installing them earlier today, which is what led to me examining them closely.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2023, 05:07:40 PM by GaryHinshaw »
Tom D.

I have a mind like a steel trap...a VERY rusty, old steel trap.

JoeD

• Crew
  • Respect: +1167
Re: Trucks on MTL mill gon
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2023, 04:34:52 PM »
+1