Author Topic: Magnetic ballast  (Read 786 times)

nkalanaga

• Crew
  • Respect: +1425
Magnetic ballast
« on: June 12, 2023, 12:06:04 AM »
+1
I'm putting this in Product Discussion because of the results of my experiments.

I recently bought a small electronic scale, mostly for weighing mail, and decided to try it on some of my Pasco, WA, sand.  I've known since grade school, in the 60s, that the sand has magnetic material in it.  A large part of the sand is basalt, the rest Rocky Mountain rocks, all crushed and delivered by Ice Age floods.

To my surprise, by weight, Pasco sand is 1/4 magnetic material, probably magnetite, which is a common mineral in basalt.  I've been using it for over 50 years as scenery material, and have always glued it very solidly, but it could certainly be a problem if left loose, or poorly glued.

Just to be sure, I tried my magnet on Arizona Rock & Mineral Basalt ballast, #115.  To my surprise, it was ALL magnetic.  After picking out the magnetic portion, there was a very small amount of dust left.  I didn't weigh it, but suspect that it was at least 99% magnetic!

AR&M C&NW Pink Granite ballast, on the other hand, had no magnetic material.  That isn't surprising, as most granite doesn't have much iron.
N Kalanaga
Be well

Dwight in Toronto

• Crew
  • Respect: +355
Re: Magnetic ballast
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2023, 06:52:40 AM »
+1
I recently started using Scenic Express ballast.  Hobby shop proprietor advised magnetic screening before use.  I didn’t find one speck of anything magnetic. 

signalmaintainer

• Crew
  • Respect: +235
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2023, 09:32:25 AM »
+2
I'm putting this in Product Discussion because of the results of my experiments.